Table of Contents
The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) has officially backed the third umpire’s decision in the controversial dismissal of Pakistan batter Muneeba Ali during the India vs Pakistan group-stage match of the , confirming that the ruling was entirely correct and consistent with the Laws of Cricket.
Muneeba Ali’s unusual run-out: What happened during the IND vs PAK clash?
The dramatic incident occurred during the fourth over of Pakistan’s chase at the R. Premadasa Stadium. Muneeba, who had scored just two runs, survived an initial LBW appeal off Kranti Gaud, but moments later found herself at the center of controversy.
As Muneeba turned to return to her crease, she momentarily grounded her bat, but then lifted it off the ground after stopping. At that very instant, . The on-field umpire initially ruled not out, but the third umpire, after multiple replays, overturned the decision and declared Muneeba run out.
The decision sparked an animated exchange between Pakistan captain Fatima Sana and the fourth umpire, with the Pakistan camp arguing that Muneeba was not attempting another run and thus should have been deemed safe.
MCC cites Law 30.1.2 in support of third umpire’s decision
Responding to widespread debate online, the MCC referred to Law 30.1.2 of the Laws of Cricket to justify the call. The law states:
“A batter shall not be considered to be out of his/her ground if, in running or diving towards his/her ground and beyond, and having grounded some part of his/her person or bat beyond the popping crease, there is subsequent loss of contact between the ground and any part of his/her person or bat, or between the bat and person.”
The MCC clarified that this provision only applies to players actively running or diving when the stumps are broken. In Muneeba’s case, she had already completed her run and was stationary at the crease, not in motion. Therefore, once she voluntarily lifted her bat and was not in contact with the ground, she was deemed out of her ground.
Also READ:
According to the MCC, the third umpire Kerrin Klaaste correctly applied the law, ruling Muneeba out once it was clear that neither her bat nor her body was grounded behind the popping crease when the stumps were broken.
“Muneeba Ali was not running or diving at the time of dismissal. She had momentarily lifted her bat, leaving her out of her ground. Therefore, the third umpire’s decision was entirely consistent with the laws and spirit of the game,” the MCC stated in thie clarification.
Muneeba’s dismissal proved crucial in the context of the match. Pakistan, already struggling early in their innings, lost momentum after her exit and failed to recover. India went on to record a comfortable victory, extending their dominance in the marquee rivalry.
Also READ:
This article was first published at , a Cricket Times company.